TNF

Complexity of corn flavor

In Read on August 30, 2010 at 7:35 am

Roger Sherman is a corn lover who decries the apparent shift toward corn that is too sweet:

But last year, while I was happily munching my fifth ear, my wife pointed out that the corn is just sweet these days—the flavor has lost its complexity. I paused long enough to realize she was right. There’s no subtlety anymore, no notes of raspberries, cherries, or cinnamon. Actually, I’ve never tasted anything but corn in my corn. But there is something missing. It’s tasting less like corn and more like sugar.

I didn’t realize there were so many different corn varietals (Frisky, Mystique, Sugar Buns), but now I want to get my hands on something other than the Super Sweet I’m sure we’ve been buying from the grocery.

Also interesting in here is the notion of specific microclimates impacting the food production.  It’s always an eye-opener for me to be reminded that geography matters.

Photo by Roger Sherman.

Photo by Roger Sherman.

Leave a Reply

