TNF

Author vs. pro

In Read, Shop on August 5, 2010 at 7:27 am

To help promote his new book Doubles, author Nic Brown challenged his tennis-pro friend Tripp Philips to a match.  This essay provides a glimpse into the world and mindset of elite athletes:

“You have no weapons,” he tells me two days later, over a lunch of cheap tacos and cheese dip. He reviews the match in this specific analytical way I’ve experienced with other professional athletes. To them, match review is engineering, not personal nicety. The performance is fact, not opinion. “No matter what,” he says, “I was going to have you off balance. And no matter what you did, I was going to be perfectly balanced. I knew where you were going to hit it before you hit it. It’s the difference between me and you. But if I played Roger Federer right now, he’d do the exact same thing to me.”

Via:  kottke.org

  1. […] Brown is also one of the authors, and it turns out they did this roundtable the day after his tennis match with Tripp Philips. ▶ No Responses /* 0) { jQuery('#comments').show('', change_location()); […]

Leave a Reply

